Question about Pharmacy

Posted by: Ben

Question about Pharmacy - 06/05/2006 18:09 PM

Hi all,

I am 21 and I am getting ready to go back to school. I graduated from HS at 16 and had no idea what to do with my life. Now I have decided to go back to school to be a pharmacist.
My question is can you earn your prerequisites at a community college or would that be a waste of time? If anyone knows I would really appreciate any info.

Thanks!
Posted by: scorp

Re: Question about Pharmacy - 06/05/2006 23:58 PM

By no means would it be waste of time. Beaware that admittance to pharmacy school is becoming very competitive. Coming from a CC you would want to do very well in your classes combined with a very good PCAT score.
Posted by: PharmDstudent

Re: Question about Pharmacy - 06/06/2006 15:30 PM

Different pharmacy schools may have different preferences as in if they will accept credits from a CC or not, if you really want to find out..I would suggest you to call the pharmacy schools directly and ask if they accept credits from schools that you will be planning to take those courses at.
Posted by: shi

Re: Question about Pharmacy - 06/06/2006 19:59 PM

I don't see why you couldn't transfer core courses earned at a community college (english, math, bio, etc.). To be absolutely certain, as the other poster said, contact the pharmacy school you plan to attend. Good luck to you!
Posted by: Jon

Re: Question about Pharmacy - 06/14/2006 16:49 PM

If your planning on taking pre-requisite classes, I would suggest taking them at a State University if feesible. Simply these classes will be on par with the applicants you are competing with and generally will have no issues transferring.

You can attend your state university as a non-matriculating student and pay per credit for your classes. Double check with your enrollment services office at your state university for more information.

This would be the best way to take care of your pre-requisites.
Posted by: toramus