construction worker going back to school

Posted by: jeffro

construction worker going back to school - 02/05/2009 18:51 PM

I graduated from high school in 1986 (I'm 41). I started doing construction when I was 16, had a family really young, and got a felony(can't be expunged in NY where it occurred, drug charge) when I was 20. There isn't very much I don't know about building houses. I have been doing residential construction-remodels, additions, basements, etc for over 25 years now, the past 12 years working for myself. I usually do my own drawings (for smaller scale jobs), and all other aspects of the residential construction business. These days my body hurts, and my heart isn't into this business like it used to be. The economy has also had a drastic affect on my business.
My kids are now grown, and I have the opportunity to go back to school. The problem is, I don't know what I want to be when I grow up. I am really interested in architecture, but I don't know if I want to spend the next 5-10 years of my life in school and internships. I am also not sure how my felony would look on a job application in this field. Am I going to be able to make the transition from being a high school graduate to a college student 20+ years later?
My ultimate goal is to work for myself. Hopefully I can find a career that allows me to use the skills I have learned throughout my construction career. I currently have an appointment with a guidance counselor, but I don't want to limit myself to one person's opinion. That's why I'm here. Hopefully someone out their has a couple ideas that they can throw at me. I am a fairly intelligent person, so the academics don't scare me, It's the whole "changing careers" thing. Thanks in advance for any response-Jeff
I ideally would like to find a career where I could work with nature and wildlife, but I can't seem to come up with any good ideas on that one! I live on Colorado now
Posted by: Admin