Hi! I am a newbie here!

Posted by: Carolyn

Hi! I am a newbie here! - 09/19/2006 18:48 PM

My name is Carolyn. I started back to school a few weeks ago and it has been a lot to adjust to.
I have 5 kids. My oldest just started college herself. She is 18. My youngest is 12 and in 6th grade.
I got my first paper back today with a big fat D frown on it! I went and talked to the professor right away to figure out how to get on the right track.
I am trying not to freak out.
Just looking for people in the same boat to share ideas with and make new Non-traditional student friends.
:D Talk to you all soon!
Posted by: r_ferg

Re: Hi! I am a newbie here! - 09/20/2006 17:41 PM

Hi Carolyn.

5 kids sounds like a handful. I dont have any kids, but i am kept pretty busy with work as the mortgage bill doesnt stop just because i decided to go back to school.

Fortunately, most of my classes have a lot of work time during class, so i do not have a whole lot to do outside of class (one class meets once a week for three hours, and we do all our work in class). But in my math class, i try to stay one assignment ahead. so tomorrow, we have an assignment due, that i had done last week. By the weekend, i will be done with next weeks assignment and so on.

There is this girl in my class who has twins, and from the what she tells me before class, the father (who she lives with) doesnt take any responsibility for the children. she will ask me if i am done with an assignment, i would say, yeah i was done last week, but she always says that she cant work on it because of the kids.