I'm back to this forum to express my gratitude for those that before me were writing encouraging words and posting tips in how and why to come back to school. I didn't write anything back then but surely those members of the forum influenced me enough to get back on the school bus and now I can proudly announce that I'll be getting my MBA degree from the University of Miami this coming December. Here's to all those posters I salute you!

Now for those of you who are thinking about getting back to college I will pay it forward... here's my story

I'm 42 now and for many years I kept lying on my resume about my education. I'm not originally from the US and back in my home country I studied 6 classes toward a bachelor's degree in Marketing and Communications. So I figured that since nobody will actually call that University to verify my credentials I might as well put it on my resume as a completed B.A. degree.

I realized that having a foreign degree and not having one are almost the same though. Deep inside I felt uncompleted. I knew I had the knowledge, I had the experience but I didn't have the degree.

In December of 2002 I found this site and this forum. I started reading inspiring stories of people just like me. So one day I finally had the courage to walk into a community college and ask to see an academic advisor. The lady who saw me was a tough one, she wasn't too sympathetic about my excuses and my fears. She asked me questions about my academic and professional goals and she input that data into her computer. This episode was hard for me because for years and years I've been lying about my credentials to employers, friends, clients but mostly I've been lying to myself and for the first time I was admitting to someone that I was a fake.

After feeding my information the academic adviser said to me: "Sir if you register full time credits starting this coming semester you'll finish Law School in 2008"
What? I barked! 2008?! I'll be 42 by then...