Throughout high school I would dream away at all the things that I could possibly be and do when I graduated and moved on to college. I thought law, medicine, nursing, business, travel, entrepreneurship, and what I really could do to leave my mark on the world...a legacy. Really, I had some pretty big dreams. I didn't want to go through life working in a mediocre job, with a mediocre salary, stuck where I started; in the retail world.

Currently, I am 25 and guess what I am doing with my life! YUP! Working in the retail world, in a mediocre job, with a mediocre salary. HARUMPF! I know I am not alone, and I know that I am not the only person looking at their life right now and asking "What happened!?"

I left home on the same day that I graduated high school, a story that I begrudgingly touch on -no elaborations will be made here, and found myself without much guidance through events in my young life that I needed guidance the most. BUT I trudged on...through different jobs, through career training, through sickness, through poverty...not realizing that I had lost something: MY DREAMS!!! As I entered survival mode at the age of 18 I forgot what was most important to me -becoming something. Looking back a bit, I guess I really didn't lose them wholly. I transformed them into a drive to succeed at what I was doing at the time...never really looking forward.

I worked in retail, I became a CNA, I worked for a credit card company, I helped someone start a business, I volunteered at a hundred different places, I became a store manager (TWICE), I sucessfully drove my store's business through its final days of liquidation (TWICE). I feel like I can do anything that is put in front of me with all these experiences and YET I cannot seem to grasp getting back into school.